Oscars 2017: The Winners

Check back over the course of the night to see who and what won in each category. Where applicable, green text denotes links to full reviews of the films. Bold denotes the winner in the category.


Best Motion Picture

  • Arrival – Shawn Levy, Dan Levine, Aaron Ryder, David Linde
  • Fences – Todd Black, Scott Rudin, Denzel Washington
  • Hacksaw Ridge – Bill Mechanic, David Permut
  • Hell or High Water – Carla Hacken, Julie Yorn
  • Hidden Figures – Peter Chernin, Donna Gigliotto, Teodore Melfi, Jenno Topping, Pharell Williams
  • La La Land – Fred Berger, Jordan Horowitz, Marc Platt
  • Lion – Ian Canning, Angie Fielder, Emile Sherman
  • Manchester by the Sea – Lauren Beck, Matt Damon, Kimberly Steward, Chris Moore, Kevin J. Walsh
  • Moonlight – Dede Gardner, Jeremy Kleiner, Adele Romanski

Best Actor

  • Casey Affleck – Manchester by the Sea
  • Andrew Garfield – Hacksaw Ridge
  • Ryan Gosling – La La Land
  • Viggo Mortensen – Captain Fantastic
  • Denzel Washington – Fences

Best Actress

Best Supporting Actor

  • Mahershala Ali – Moonlight
  • Jeff Bridges – Hell or High Water
  • Lucas Hedges – Manchester by the Sea
  • Dev Patel – Lion
  • Michael Shannon – Nocturnal Animals

Best Supporting Actress

  • Viola Davis – Fences
  • Naomie Harris – Moonlight
  • Nicole Kidman – Lion
  • Octavia Spencer – Hidden Figures
  • Michelle Williams – Manchester by the Sea

Best Director

  • Denis Villeneuve – Arrival
  • Mel Givson – Hacksaw Ridge
  • Damien Chazelle – La La Land
  • Kenneth Lonergan – Manchester by the Sea
  • Barry Jenkins – Moonlight

Best Original Screenplay

  • Hell or High Water – Taylor Sheridan
  • La La Land – Damien Chazelle
  • The Lobster – Yorgos Lanthimos, Efthymis Filippou
  • Manchester by the Sea – Kenneth Longergan
  • 20th Century Women – Mike Mills

Best Adapted Screenplay

  • Arrival – Eric Heisserer
  • Fences – August Wilson
  • Hidden Figures – Allison Schroeder, Theodore Melfi
  • Lion – Luke Davies
  • Moonlight – Barry Jenkins, Tarell Alvin McCraney

Best Animated Feature

  • Kubo and the Two Strings – Travis Knight, Arianne Sutner
  • Moana – Ron Clements, John Musker, Osnat Shurer
  • My Life as a Zucchini – Claude Barras, Max Karli
  • The Red Turtle – Michael Dudok do Wit, Toshio Suzuki
  • Zootopia – Byron Howard, Rich Moore, Clark Spencer

Best Foreign Language Film

Best Cinematography

  • Arrival – Bradford Young
  • La La Land – Linus Sandgren
  • Lion – Greig Fraser
  • Moonlight – James Laxton
  • Silence – Rodrigo Prieto

Best Film Editing

  • Arrival – Joe Walker
  • Hacksaw Ridge – John Gilbert
  • Hell or High Water – Jake Roberts
  • La La Land – Tom Cross
  • Moonlight – Joi McMillon, Nat Sanders

Best Production Design

Best Costume Design

  • Allied – Joanna Johnston
  • Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them – Colleen Atwood
  • Florence Foster Jenkins – Consolata Boyle
  • Jackie – Madeline Fontaine
  • La La Land – Mary Zophres

Best Makeup and Hairstyling

  • A Man Called Ove – Eva Von Bahr, Love Larson
  • Star Trek Beyond – Joel Harlow, Richard Alonzo
  • Suicide Squad – Alessandro Bertolazzi, Giorgio Gregorini, Christopher Allen Nelson

Best Original Score

  • Jackie – Mica Levi
  • La La Land – Justin Hurwitz
  • Lion – Dustin O’Halloran, Volker Bertelmann
  • Moonlight – Nicholas Britell
  • Passengers – Thomas Newman

Best Original Song

  • La La Land – “Audition (The Fools who Dream)” – Justin Hurwitz, Benj Pasek, Justin Paul
  • Trolls – “Can’t Stop the Feeling” – Justin Timberlake, Max Martin, Shellback
  • La La Land – “City of Stars” – Justin Hurwitz, Benj Pasek, Justin Paul
  • Jim: The James Foley Story – “The Empty Chair” – J. Ralph, Sting
  • Moana – “How Far I’ll Go” – Lin-Manuel Miranda

Best Sound Mixing

  • Arrival – Bernard Gariepy Stroby, Claude La Haye
  • Hacksaw Ridge – Kevin O’Connell, Andy Wright, Robert Mackenzie, Peter Grace
  • La La Land – Andy Nelson, Ai-Ling Lee, Steven Morrow
  • Rogue One – David Parker, Christopher Scarabosio, Stuart Wilson
  • 13 Hours – Gary Summers, Jeffrey J. Haboush, Mac Ruth

Best Sound Editing

  • Arrival – Sylvain Bellemare
  • Deepwater Horizon – Wylie Stateman, Renee Tondelli
  • Hacksaw Ridge – Robert Mackenzie, Andy Wright
  • La La Land – Ai-Ling Lee, Mildred Iatrou
  • Sully – Alan Robert Murray, Bub Asman

Best Visual Effects

  • Deepwater Horizon – Craig Hammack, Jason H. Snell, Jason Billington, Burt Dalton
  • Doctor Strange – Stephane Ceretti, Richard Bluff, Vincent Cirelli, Paul Corbould
  • The Jungle Book – Robert Legato, Adam Valdez, Andrew R Jones, Don Lemmon
  • Kubo and the Two Strings – Steve Emerson, Oliver Jones, Brian McLean, Brad Schiff
  • Rogue One – John Knoll, Mohen Leo, Hal T. Hickel, Neil Corbould

Best Documentary Feature

Best Documentary Short Subject

Best Animated Short Film

Best Live Action Short Film


As always, thanks for reading!

Like CineFiles on Facebook for more articles and reviews!

—Alex Brannan (@TheAlexBrannan)


Leave a Reply. We'd love to hear your thoughts!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.